The same as the logo on the right. Catenian logo surmounted by 'Wimbledon Circle' and underscored with '1918 - 2018' all on polished gold

Wimbledon Catenians
Strengthening family life through friendship and faith

  Report     Rules and Arrangements  

Wimbledon Annual Photographic Evening 2019 - Report

This competition is organized by Wimbledon Circle as a contribution to the life of the Province. The first competition was held in 1979 and it has been held annually ever since (except for 2003 when we preferred to celebrate our 1000th meeting and 2018 when we celebrated our centenary - first in Province to reach this milestone). The instigator was a professional photographer Brother who emigrated to Australia and gave the cup to the Circle for a photographic competition. The first organiser was Brother Denis Richardson (RIP) - who was also the first winer.

Here are reduced copies of this year's winning prints.

A pair of dogs peer expectantly from the open boot of a car

"When are we going home?" by Mark Potter

A chjild plays in a foamy garden paddling pool while a grown man lies with hios head squashing the side

"What are you doing there Daddy?" by Noel Brownsell

A view of the side of St Paul's Cathedral with office blocks behind 
			and two beams of light in a blue sky

"Angels' Rays at St Paul's Cathedral" by Thomas Pfann

Same picture ar above

"When are we going home?" by Mark Potter - again!

2019 results in detail

In 2019 the Circle meeting night fell on Hallowe'en so William, our President, suggested that could be a theme for the evening (though not for the photos); not many Brothers showed enthusiasm for the idea but the ladies, and the catering staff, put the men to shame!  There were 65 entries from 11 contestants representing 5 circles. Of course, 4 winners; or were there?.  This year we continued with the 'Fun', 'Family / Friendship', 'Faith' classes - echoing the Catenian strap-line.  We also continued with the acceptance of entries through the Circle web-site , the majority were received this way. 

The Wimbledon Cup, for the best in the 'Fun' class was won by Brother Mark Potter of Woking Circle with his picture entitled 'When are we going home?'.  Noel Brownsell of Balham had a telling picture of father and child using the same garden paddling pool in quite different ways. He received the Barbara Golden Shield. In the Faith category there was a new face and new winner at the evening, both belonging to Brother Thomas Pfann of Woking with 'Angels rays at St Pauls Cathedral'. Votes were cast by the assembled company in the Vox Pop contest and guess what! it also was won by Mark Potter with the same picture! and, even more spectacularly that was his sole entry!  The judges were Provincial vice-President Richard Mills, Mrs Mary Mills and John Woodhouse (Norwood) accompanied by Liz.

Canapes in the form of "Witches Nibbles" were served while people enjoyed viewing and voting for the pictures.  This was followed by all sitting to "A Right Carve Up, Monster Mash and a Cauldron of Pumpkin Stew" (aka roast beef, sliced gammon and Chicken legs served with a broccoli and potato mash and a vegetable (vegetarian) stew.  Peas and carrots were just that - peas and carrots) followed by Black Forest Gateau and Grave Yard Cheeseboard. Coffee and tea with tricks and Treats followed. .  Catering as before was by Gingham Hearts with Louise leaving the work to her very competant staff.

Our VP, Bill Sathananthan, ran the evening and embellished the room with many other phographs, as well as making the display boards and lighting.  The competent MC was Brother Basil Rickard.  Significant assistance came from other members of the Circle, ladies and visitors. Some pictures of the event are in the 'Event Photos' section of the website.

Winners over the past 39 years of the Wimbledon Cup

1979 D S Richardson Wimbledon 1980 D S Richardson Wimbledon
1981 E J Hughes Weybridge 1982 J W Holden Coulsdon
1983 J C O'Sullivan Epsom 1984 A E Posthuma Wimbledon
1985 P A Bernard Esher 1986 P A Bernard Esher
1987 P A Bernard Esher 1988 C J Gaskin Darlington
1989 A M Hughes Esher 1990 D S Richardson Wimbledon
1991 S J Lodge Esher 1992 D S Richardson Wimbledon
1993 P A Bernard Esher 1994 S J Lodge Esher
1995 S J Lodge Esher 1996 Una Barrie Croydon
1997 Mary Gaskin Darlington 1998 Mike Thelwell Croydon
1999 Jean Smallwood Woking 2000 Una Barrie Croydon
2001 Tricia Cousins Wimbledon 2002 Martin Gilhooly Wimbledon
2003 No competition
Wimbledon's 1000th meeting
2004 Jean Clapham Weybridge
2005 Mary Wilson Reigate 2006 Norma O'Gorman Runnymede
2007 Chris Woodward Wimbledon 2008 Mary Wilson Reigate
2009 Mary Wilson Reigate 2010 Robert Smith Coulsdon
2011 Andrew Wilson Reigate 2012 Stephen Ballard Guildford
2013 Christopher Devereux Guildford 2014 Tina Lee Croydon
2015 Tony Mawer Purley 2016 Chris Woodward Wimbledon
2017 Geoff Bignall Guildford 2018 No competition
Wimbledon's Centenary
2019 Mark Potter Woking

Winners of the Barbara Golden trophy

2006  Chris Woodward Wimbledon 2007 John Golden Wimbledon
2008 John Golden Wimbledon 2009 Mary Wilson Reigate
2010 Patricia Lewis Reigate 2011 Chris Woodward Wimbledon
2012 Chris Curtis Wimbledon 2013 Christopher Devereux Guildford
2014 Evelyn DeCruz Woking & District 2015 Helen Sathananthan Wimbledon
2016 Stephen Rowden Guildford 2017 John Woodhouse Norwood
2018 No competition
Wimbledon's Centenary
2019 Noel Brownsell Balham

Return to the menu
Please note that this site does not use 'cookies'
Static information is valid at October 2015